Hmmmm, lets see. We finished this:
FinishedGreenhouse
Which is good, because I immediately planted broccoli, cauliflower, cabbage, kohlrabi, Chinese cabbage, spinach and lettuce in flats (all cool season crops) and some if it is already coming up.
CabbageSproutAnd then we put down landscape fabric and a drip system on the blueberry patch. Trust me, there are blueberries in there. They are just really small. I spent all last summer trying to keep the weeds down and keep it watered. It was a nightmare. This year is going to be awesome.
BlueberryBed And then we pulled out the drip tape in the garden and pulled the old trellis/fencing and mowed down the old plant stems and discovered this in the process. What, you don’t see it?
KilldeerEggsFarNow you do! KilldeerEggsCloseWe had a killdeer successfully nest in the onion patch last year. This year they are in the old corn stalks, which will be the tomatoes this year. But that won’t be for a while. Plenty of time for them to hatch and be on their way.

Meanwhile these are blooming all over the yard. Since I didn’t plant them, every year I forget where they all are, and its like a wonderful surprise each time they come up.
DafodillsAnd our weeping Santa Rosa plum tree is in full glorious bloom. I take a picture of it every year. It’s less weeping this year since the goats trimmed up what they could reach. Fingers crossed for fruit this year. We lost it all last year to a late spring frost.
PlumTreeBloom
PlumBlossomsAnd then of course, the forsythia is in full glory as well. My big black cat Malcolm was posed under one of the lovely arching branches the other day, but of course came running as soon as I pointed the camera at him. (I tried to be stealthy, but he saw me).
ForsythiaAnd most of the chickens have decided to nest wherever they darned well feel like it, instead of in the nest boxes.
Cockoo MaranProbably in large part because there is a lot of this going on. Should be some turkey babies around my the first week in April.
TurkeyNestingWe got our little pond cleaned out. I rolled up my pants and took off my shoes and scooped out the muck and rocks and decomposing anaerobic crud with a bucket. Took me two showers to get the smell off my skin. But the fish are happy. We bring them in during the winter and put them back out from March to about October. These started out as $1 feeder fish from the pet store. Now they look like koi and if they get much bigger I’m not sure where we’re going to put them this winter.
GoldfishAnd lastly, the apricot we planted last summer looks like this right now. Not actually expecting fruit this year, but sure is pretty. Apricots are one of my very favorite fruits for making jams and eating out of hand.
ApricotBlossomMiles Away Farm Blog © 2014, where this weekend my dear friend Lauri and her husband are coming to visit from Spokane. She actually won a weekend in Walla Walla tour package. So excited to visit with my sister from another mother, and fellow farmer to boot.

